Society for Psychological Anthropology

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Society for Psychological Anthropology Lifetime Achievement Award honors career-long contributions to psychological anthropology that have substantially influenced the field and its development. The award seeks to recognize the work of individuals whose sustained involvement in psychological anthropology has had a major impact on research directions, on the wider visibility and relevance of the field, and on the growth of a community of scholarship addressing issues of culture and psychology.

Carol Worthman

2021 Winner

Mary-Jo Good

2020 Winner

Thomas Csordas

2023 Winner

Tanya Marie Luhrmann

2022 Winner

Bradd Shore

2019 Winner

Byron J. Good

2017 Winner

Richard Schweder

2016 Winner

Vincent Crapanzano

2015 Winner

Jean Lave and Anthony F. C. Wallace

2013 Winner

Gananath Obeyesekere

2011 Winner

Naomi Quinn

2009 Winner

Robert Edgerton

2007 Winner

Jean Briggs and Roy D’Andrade

2005 Winner

Theodore Schwartz and Walter Goldschmidt

2003 Winner

Robert I. Levy

2001 Winner

Robert A. LeVine

1997 Winner

Melford E. Spiro

1991 Winner

John and Beatrice Whiting

1989 Winner