Executive Board

<a href="https://anthropology.ucsd.edu/people/faculty/faculty-profiles/janis-jenkins.html">Dr. Janis H. Jenkins, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Janis H. Jenkins, Ph.D.

President (2023-2025)

Dr. Jenkins is Distinguished Professor of Anthropology and Psychiatry at the University of California at San Diego and Director of the UCSD Center for Global Mental Health

<a href="https://anthro.ucla.edu/person/c-jason-throop/">Dr. C. Jason Throop, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. C. Jason Throop, Ph.D.

President-Elect (2025-2027)

Dr. Throop is Department Chair of Anthropology at the University of California Los Angeles

<a href="https://anthropology.case.edu/bridget-m-haas/">Dr. Bridget Haas, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Bridget Haas, Ph.D.

Secretary (2023-2025)

Dr. Haas is Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Anthropology at Case Western University

<a href="https://cas.uoregon.edu/directory/profiles/all/ljweaver">Dr. Lesley Jo Weaver, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Lesley Jo Weaver, Ph.D.

Treasurer (2023-2025)

Dr. Weaver is Associate Professor of Anthropology and Global Health Program Director at the University of Oregon

<a href="https://realc.emory.edu/people/biographies/ozawa-de-silva-chikako.html">Dr. Chikako Ozawa-de Silva, Ph.D. </a>

Dr. Chikako Ozawa-de Silva, Ph.D. 

Board Member (2023-2025)

Dr. Ozawa-de Silva is Professor of Japanese Studies and Anthropology at Emory University

<a href="https://www.unco.edu/hss/anthropology/about/faculty/whitney-duncan.aspx">Dr. Whitney Duncan, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Whitney Duncan, Ph.D.

Board Member (2023-2025)

Dr. Duncan is Professor of Anthropology at The University of Northern Colorado

<a href="https://www.soka.edu/about/faculty-staff/edward-lowe">Dr. Edward Lowe, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Edward Lowe, Ph.D.

Board Member

Dr. Lowe is Professor of Anthropology at Soka University of America

<a href="https://www.mcgill.ca/culture-mind-brain/people-0">Dr. Vincent Laliberté, MD, M.A.</a>

Dr. Vincent Laliberté, MD, M.A.

Student Representative

Vincent is a Psychiatrist and Doctoral Candidate in the Department of Anthropology at McGill University

<a href="https://researchportal.helsinki.fi/en/persons/hua-wu">Dr. Hua (Miranda) Wu, Ph.D.</a>

Dr. Hua (Miranda) Wu, Ph.D.


Dr. Wu is a Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Helsinki

<a href="https://cgmh.ucsd.edu/people/graduate-students.html">Sara Fragione, B.A.</a>

Sara Fragione, B.A.


Sara is a Graduate Student in the Department of Anthropology at The University of California at San Diego.

Former SPA Presidents

2021-23 Laurence J. Kirmayer
2019-21 Rebecca Lester
2017-19 Jill Korbin
2015-17 Carol M. Worthman
2013-15 Byron Good
2011-13 Claudia Strauss
2009-11 Douglas Hollan
2007-09 Tanya Luhrmann
2005-07 Tom Weisner
2003-05 Dorothy Holland
2001-03 Geoff White
1999-2001 Bradd Shore
1997-99 Philip Bock
1995-97 Lee Munroe
1993-95 Naomi Quinn
1991-93 Vincent Crapanzano
1989-91 Richard Shweder
1987-89 Theodore Schwartz
1986-87 Robert Edgerton
1985-86 George DeVos
1984-85 Lewis Langness
1983-84 Beatrice Whiting
1982-83 Douglass Price-Williams
1981-82 Robert LeVine
1980-81 Melford Spiro
1979-80 John Whiting